Advisory Board for Non-Discrimination

The Advisory Board for Non-Discrimination works with the office of the Non-Discrimination Ombudsman.

The tasks of the Advisory Board are to promote equality in general, to act as a channel for dialogue and information exchange between those working to prevent discrimination, and to address issues related to equality. 

The Advisory Board consists of parties who are prominent for the prevention of discrimination and promotion of equality. The Non-Discrimination Ombudsman serves as the chair of the Advisory Board. The tasks, composition and activities of the Advisory Board are determined in a Government decree.

The Government appoints the Advisory Board for four years at a time. The Advisory Board is an independent body.

Composition of the Advisory Board for the term of office 6.11.2023–5.11.2026

Chair for the term:
Non-Discrimination Ombudsman Kristina Stenman

Members for the term 6.11.2023–5.11.2026:


  • Ira Custódio, The Central Union for Child Welfare
  • Mika Happonen, Ministry of Finance Finland
  • Abdirahim Hussein, Moniheli
  • Seija Jalkanen, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment of Finland
  • Markku Jokinen, Finnish Association of the Deaf
  • Niina Kilpelä, Ministry of the Environment
  • Antti Kivijärvi, Finnish Youth Research Network
  • Anni Koivisto, Sámediggi/The Sámi Parliament
  • Sari Kokko, Finnish Disability Forum
  • Henri Kontkin, National Union of University Students in Finland
  • Christine Kotzev, Svenska Finlands folkting
  • Katri Kuusikallio, The National Forum for Cooperation of Religions in Finland
  • Hanna Lahti, The Finnish Association of People with Physical Disabilities
  • Jarkko Lahtinen, Association of Finnish Municipalities
  • Katja Leppänen, Confederation of Finnish Industries
  • Jaakko Lindfors, Finnish National Agency for Education
  • Henry Lindgren, Regional State Administrative Agency for Northern Finland
  • Päivi Majaniemi, The Finnish Roma Association
  • Javiera Marchant Aedo, Anti-Racist Forum
  • Pargol Miraftabi, Amnesty Finland
  • Shugri Mohamed, Finnish Somali League
  • Dennis Rehn, SAMS Samarbetsförbundet kring funktionshinder
  • Nada Al Omair, Ministry of Justice
  • Martta October, The Finnish League for Human Rights
  • Anssi Pirttijärvi, Ministry of Education and Culture
  • Maaret Pulliainen, SAK – The Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions
  • Jani Ruuskanen, Digital and Population Data Services Agency
  • Atte Rytkönen-Sandberg, The Suomen yrittäjät
  • Satu Räsänen, Valvira – National Supervisory Authority for Welfare and Health
  • Tero Saarikivi, Police of Finland
  • Miika Sahamies, Akava – Confederation of Unions for Professional and Managerial Staff in Finland
  • Minna Ahtiainen, STTK – Finnish Confederation of Professionals
  • Johanna Sakko, Victim Support Finland
  • Milla Sandt, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health
  • Olga Silfver, MONIKA – Multicultural Women’s Association, Finland
  • Reetta Siukola, Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare
  • Hanne Huvila, Ministry of the Interior
  • Niklas Vaalgamaa, SETA – LGBTI Rights in Finland
  • Mika Välimaa, The Threshold Association